Young Investigator Award

The Young Investigator Award is presented to a physician who has completed pediatric infectious diseases fellowship training seven years or less from the award date and whose independent and productive research during and after fellowship represents outstanding contributions in pediatric infectious diseases.

Nominations are accepted from current PIDS members. Download the application to learn more on the nomination requirements for this award.  Email the application package to PIDS Headquarters ( on or before 5 pm ET on May 10th

Past Recipients of the Young Investigator Award

  • 2020: Anita K. McElroy, MD, PhD
  • 2019: Neil Surana, MD, PhD
  • 2018: James E. Cassat, MD, PhD
  • 2017: Pranita Tamma, MD
  • 2016: Michael Cohen-Wolkowiez, MD, PhD
  • 2015: Sallie Permar, MD, PhD
  • 2014: Aaron Milstone, MD, MHS
  • 2013: Saad Omer, MD, PhD
  • 2012: Stephanie Fritz, MD, MSCI and C. Buddy Creech, MD, MPH
  • 2011: Samir Shah, MD, MSCE
  • 2010: Natasha Halasa, MD, MPH
  • 2009: William J. Steinbach, MD
  • 2008: George Y. Liu, MD
  • 2007: John V. Williams, MD
  • 2006: Manuel Amieva, MD, PhD and Daniel Benjamin, MD, MPH, PhD
  • 2005: Hasan S. Jafri, MD
  • 2004: Chandy John, MD
  • 2003: Jesus G. Vallejo, MD
  • 2002: Victor Nizet, MD
  • 2001: Jennifer S. Read, MD, MS, MPH
  • 2000: James E. Crowe, Jr., MD and David B. Haslam, MD
  • 1999: Michael Cappello, MD and Marian G. Michaels, MD
  • 1998: Toni Darville, MD
  • 1997: James P. Nataro, MD, PhD
  • 1996: Joseph St. Geme, III, MD
  • 1995: Betsy Herold, MD
  • 1993: Peter Jay Hotez, MD, PhD
  • 1992: Anne Moscona, MD
  • 1991: Christian C. Patrick, MD
  • 1990: Hal B. Jenson, MD
Make a Difference Today

Improving the health of children worldwide through philanthropic support of scientific and educational programs.