Application deadline: July 2, 2020
2020 Antimicrobial Stewardship Fellowship Award Application (PDF)

The goal of this award is to support the development of future researchers in pediatric antimicrobial stewardship by providing mentorship to complete a scholarly research project in a timely manner during fellowship or residency.

Applicants may propose any type of study focusing on antimicrobial stewardship. The project should be able to be completed in one year, and the award will provide travel funds for awardees to present their work at the annual Pediatric Antimicrobial Stewardship Conference in St. Louis in June of 2021. Applicants wishing to discuss a project proposal pre-submission may email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Awardees will also be provided with an antimicrobial stewardship mentoring committee. This group will be composed of leaders in the field of antimicrobial stewardship who are Pediatric Committee on Antimicrobial Stewardship (PCAS) members. This group has substantial experience in conducting stewardship research and can provide methodological guidance, as well as access to certain relevant national pediatric databases, if needed.

Applicants must be physicians or pharmacists in training and PIDS members; pediatric residents may also apply and need not be PIDS members. Applicants must submit:

  • An application including an overview of the aim and research question to be answered
  • A letter of recommendation from a local mentor
  • Copies of applicant’s and mentor’s CV

Applications should be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by July 2, 2020.

PCAS members will evaluate applications based on the research question (significance, novelty, feasibility, and potential to lead to other projects), candidate (prior interest in stewardship or research experience), and the mentor/training environment (mentor stewardship expertise and experience, resources). Up to three awardees will be selected; awardees will be notified by July 31, 2020.